Parliament to debate Chinese sanctions against MEPs 

MEPs and EU Foreign Policy Chief Josep Borrell will debate the recent Chinese sanctions against several European entities and politicians, on Wednesday.

The Chinese sanctions imposed in March on several European entities and political representatives, including five Members of the European Parliament and the Subcommittee on Human Rights, were a retaliatory act in response to the EU decision to enact restrictive measures against four Chinese officials over human rights abuses against the Muslim Uyghur minority in the Xinjiang region.

The MEPs in question are Reinhard Bütikofer (The Greens/EFA, Germany), Michael Gahler (EPP, Germany), Raphaël Glucksmann (S&D, France), Ilhan Kyuchyuk (Renew Europe, Bulgaria) and Miriam Lexmann (EPP, Slovakia).

Others targeted by China’s sanctions include academics, national Members of Parliament and the European Union’s Political and Security Committee (PSC).

In a statement after the sanctions were imposed, the Chinese Foreign Ministry declared that the individuals concerned are banned from entering mainland China, Hong Kong and Macao. The statement also said that these individuals, “companies and institutions associated with them are also restricted from doing business with China”.

The plenary debate will be wound up with a resolution to be put to the vote during the May session.

Statement by the Vice-President of the Commission/High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy

Debate: Wednesday, 28 April

Vote: May session