Salaries and pensions 

How much are MEPs paid?

Under the single statute for Members, in force since July 2009, MEPs all earn the same salary. It is set at 38.5% of the basic salary of a judge at the Court of Justice of the European Union.

The monthly gross MEP salary, under the single statute, is €9,808.67 (from 01/07/2022). It is paid out of the Parliament's budget. All MEPs pay EU tax and insurance contributions, after which the salary is €7,646.00. In addition, most EU countries oblige MEPs to pay additional national tax. The final net salary for an individual Member therefore depends on the tax regime of the Member State in which an MEP is elected.

There are a few exceptions to the single statute: MEPs elected to Parliament prior to 2009 can opt to continue to use the previous system for transitional allowances, pensions and salaries, under which Members are paid the same amount as national MPs, for as long as they are MEPs.

Are MEPs entitled to a pension? How much is it?

Members are entitled to an old-age pension when they turn 63. The pension equals 3.5% of the salary for each full year in office but not more than 70% in total. The cost of these pensions is met by the European Union budget.

An additional pension scheme, introduced for MEPs in 1989, was closed to new members from July 2009 and is being phased out.