What is the European Parliament? 

The European Parliament shares power over the EU budget and legislation with the Council of the European Union (EU governments), plays a key role in electing the President of the European Commission and makes sure other EU institutions are working democratically.

The Members of the European Parliament are elected in the member states and represent the interests of the EU’s 500 million inhabitants. Over the years and with subsequent changes in European treaties, the Parliament has acquired substantial legislative and budgetary powers.