The bureau: meet the people in charge of the 8th European Parliament 

The first EP plenary session with the new MEPs  

MEPs elect the European Parliament's president, vice-presidents and quaestors at the beginning and middle of each parliamentary term. Check out our series of articles, infographics and videos to learn more about the key posts in the European Parliament’s 8th term, their holders in the next two and hal years and the election process.

The president, 14 vice-presidents and five quaestors form the Parliament's bureau. The bureau is the body that lays down rules for the Parliament, draws up the preliminary draft budget and decides all administrative, staff and organisational matters.

The newly elected bureau:


  • Martin Schulz (S&D, Germany)


  • Antonio Tajani (EPP, Italy)
  • Mairead McGuinness (EPP, Ireland)
  • Rainer Wieland (EPP, Germany)
  • Ramón Luis Valcárcel Siso (EPP, Spain)
  • Ildikó Gáll-Pelcz (EPP, Hungary)
  • Adina Ioana Valean (EPP, Romania)
  • Sylvie Guillaume (S&D, France)
  • Ioan Mircea Pascu (S&D, Romania)
  • David Sassoli (S&D, Italy)
  • Olli Rehn (ALDE, Finland)
  • Alexander Graf Lambsdorff (ALDE, Germany)
  • Ulrike Lunacek (Greens/EFA, Austria)
  • Dimitris Papadimoulis (GUE/NGL, Greece)
  • Ryszard Czarnecki (ECR, Poland)



  • Elisabeth Morin-Chartier (EPP, France)
  • Bogusław Liberadzki (S&D, Poland)
  • Catherine Bearder (ALDE, UK)
  • Andrey Kovatchev (EPP, Bulgaria)
  • Karol Adam Karski (ECR, Poland)