MEPs elect David Sassoli as Parliament President 


Italian S&D member David Sassoli was elected as European Parliament president on 3 July following two rounds of voting.

Sassoli, 63, received 345 votes out of 667 votes cast in the second ballot. He is a former TV journalist and has been an MEP since 2009.

In his statement before the start of the election procedure, Sassolis spoke of Parliament's responsability towards all the new voters that took part in the last European elections in May: “They have given us a mandate, because they believe in our institution, they believe in democracy and in free elections. We must not disappoint them."

“Throughout this coming legislature, we have to be in the vanguard, we have to be leading the necessary, and indeed vital, changes to make Europe stronger and modernise it,” he added.

MEPs also elected 14 vice-presidents, who can replace the president when needed, as well as five quaestors, who deal with administrative matters affecting MEPs. In addition members voted on the size of parliamentary committees.

David Sassoli