Who's who: overview of Parliament's leadership  


MEPs elected a new Parliament president, vice-presidents and quaestors in January 2022. Find out from our infographic who was chosen for Parliament's key posts.

Who's who The Bureau

The President is elected for a renewable term of two-and-a-half years


Together with the Parliament president, vice-presidents and quaestors make up the Bureau, which takes decisions on matters of internal organisation for the institution. While the president oversees all of Parliament’s work and represents it in all legal matters and external relations, it is possible to delegate some duties to vice-presidents. They can also replace the president when chairing plenary sessions. Quaestors deal with financial and administrative matters that concern MEPs.

To find out more about the responsibilities of Bureau members, click on their name or photo

All of these posts are only for two-and-a-half years so MEPs vote for a president, vice-presidents and quaestors at the beginning of each parliamentary term and again at mid-term.

In January 2023, MEPs elected Marc Angel (S&D, Luxembourg) as Parliament vice-president to replace Eva Kaili (non-attached, Greece) whose term as vice-president was terminated in December 2022.

Martin Hojsík (Renew Europe, Slovakia) was elected vice-president and Isabel Wiseler-Lima (EPP, Luxembourg) was elected quaestor in October 2023. Hojsík replaced Michal Šimečka (Renew Europe, Slovakia) and Wiseler-Lima replaced Cristophe Hansen (EPP, Luxembourg), in their respective roles, following the departure of Šimečka and Hansen from the European Parliament after national elections.

Victor Negrescu (S&D, Romania) was elected quaestor in November 2023, replacing Monika Beňová (non-attached, Slovakia).