Parliament group priorities: European United Left/Nordic Green Left  


Share this page: 

The left-wing European United Left/Nordic Green Left is the smallest group in the European Parliament.

During the European elections in May, about 200 million Europeans elected MEPs to represent them over the coming five years in the new European Parliament. Those MEPs are organised into  groups based on their political affinities. Find out about the priorities of each group in our video series.

The European United Left/Nordic Green Left (GUE/NGL) group was established in 1995 and is an alliance of socialist and communist parties. The group has 41 members, which makes it the smallest group in the current European Parliament. Its members represent 14 EU countries.

GUE/NGL has two new co-presidents: France’s Manon Aubry, a first-time MEP, and Martin Schirdewan from Germany, who has been an MEP since 2017. The group also has four vice-presidents.

The group focuses on climate fairness, tax justice, workers’ rights and the enforcement of human rights.

One of the 14 vice-presidents of the European Parliament is a GUE/NGL member, as is one of the 20 chairs of the parliamentary committees.