Coming up in plenary: Brexit, EU budget, Sakharov Prize 


Share this page: 

Latest Brexit developments, vote on the EU's 2020 budget and an end-of-term assessment for the Juncker Commission will be on the agenda of the plenary session on 21-24 October.


MEPs will discuss the latest Brexit developments following last week's European Council and Saturday's vote in the House of Commons.

EU summit

On Tuesday MEP’s will debate the results of the EU summit, which included discussions on Brexit, the EU's next long-term budget, strategic priorities for the next five years, as well as the fight against climate change.


Members will also review the work done by Jean-Claude Juncker during his five years at the head of the European Commission. The new Ursula von der Leyen Commission is expected to take office on 1 December.


On Tuesday MEPs will debate Parliament's position on the EU's budget for next year The 2020 budget should include more funding for measures to fight climate change and higher investment in sustainable technologies. They will vote on it on Wednesday.


Parliament will debate stalled legislation obliging multinationals to disclose what taxes they pay in each country on Tuesday and vote on a resolution on Thursday.


On Wednesday Parliament will discuss Turkey's military operation on the Syrian border and its consequences. They will vote on a resolution on Thursday.

Thomas Cook

MEPs will discuss the impact of the Thomas Cook bankruptcy on tourism, air and road transport on Monday.


On Wednesday Parliament will discuss EU accession prospects for Albania and North Macedonia after EU leaders failed to agree to open membership talks.

Sakharov Prize

Parliament President David Sassoli will announce the winner of the 2019 Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought on Thursday at noon.

The finalists for this year’s Sakharov Prize are Ilham Tohti, an imprisoned economist fighting for Uyghur rights in China; The Restorers, five Kenyan students raising awareness about female genital mutilation; and the Brazilian political activists Marielle Franco, Chief Raoni and Claudelice Silva dos Santos.