Sakharov Walk of Freedom  

David Sassoli (right) and Lorent Saleh during the inauguration of the Sakharov Walk of Freedom  

Marking International Human Rights Day on 10 December, European Parliament President David Sassoli and Sakharov Prize laureate Lorent Saleh inaugurated the Sakharov Walk of Freedom.

The Sakharov Walk of Freedom consists of 43 ceramic-based tiles arranged on the Solidarność Esplanade outside the European Parliament in Brussels, inscribed with short texts about all the Sakharov Prize laureates.

The tiles are arranged chronologically, starting with 1988 when the Sakharov Prize was first awarded, in a circle towards 2019.

Inauguration of the Sakharov Walk of Freedom outside the European Parliament on 10 December in Brussels.