How countries can join the EU 


The European Union already has 27 members and other countries want to join, but how does a country join the EU?

It has to meet a number of criteria, the first of which is that it must be in Europe. In addition, it must be a democracy, have a free market economy and respect EU values.

As a condition of joining, a country must adopt all EU laws and agree to swap its currency for the euro in the future. Find out more in our video.

Currently five countries are in talks to join the EU: Albania, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Serbia and Turkey.

Find out more about EU enlargement.