Meet the new chairs of the parliamentary committees 


Committees are the powerhouses of Parliament’s legislative work. Find out who will be heading them up for the next two-and-a-half years.

Overview of the different committee chairs  

The European Parliament’s committees elected their chairs and vice-chairs during their first meetings in July. 

Committees are responsible for drafting Parliament's positions on legislative proposals. They also prepare own-initiative reports, appoint negotiating teams to conduct talks with the Council, organise hearings with experts and scrutinise other EU institutions and bodies.

The Parliament has 20 standing committees and two subcommittees, covering various policy areas from the environment to international trade.