Sakharov Prize: the procedure to select the winner step by step 


Share this page: 

Enlarge this picture: SakharovInfographic_dec2015_EN.jpg 
Find out how the laureate of the Sakharov Prize gets selected in our infographic  

From Mandela to Mukwege, the European Parliament has been awarding the Sakharov Prize for the Freedom of Thought every year since 1988, but how does the winner get selected? Check out our infographic to find out how the process works and follow #SakharovPrize on Twitter to find out all the latest news on this year's laureate.

Since 1988 37 exceptional individuals and organisations have been awarded the Sakharov Prize for their efforts to defend human rights and fundamental freedoms. Find out more about them here.