Video: Parliament elects von der Leyen as Commission President 


MEPs elected Ursula von der Leyen European Commission President on 16 July after she promised tougher emission targets and a right of initiative for the Parliament.

The former German Defence Minister won the the backing of the directly-elected European Parliament in a secret ballot. There were 383 votes in favour of her nomination, 327 against and 22 abstentions.

Her first task will be to set up the new commission. In consultation with the new Commission President, EU countries will each propose a candidate commissioner.

These commissioner-designates will be examined by the European Parliament committees responsible for their proposed portfolio during a series of hearings in September and October.

Once they have satisfied the committees of their fitness for the posts, the Parliament will vote on the entire Commission during a plenary session.

The new European Commission should start its work on 1 November.