Did anyone refuse to appear before the inquiry? 


In the course of the Civil Liberties Committee hearings, MEPs heard privacy and IT security experts, whistle blowers, representatives of Google, Facebook and Microsoft, journalists, lawyers and members of national committees conducting oversight of intelligence services (the full list is available on pages 54-60 of the draft resolution).

However, a number of experts declined to take part in the committee's public hearings, such as US National Security Agency Director Keith Alexander (although he met Mr Moraes and Elmar Brok (EPP, DE) on 29 October 2013 in Washington DC), US Representative to the EU Robert A. Wood, GCHQ Director Sir Ian Lobban, representatives of French, German and Polish intelligence services and representatives of Yahoo, Amazon, Orange, British Telecom and Vodafone. The Dutch Ministers of the Interior and Justice also declined to participate in the hearings (for further details, see pages 61 and 62 of the draft resolution).