Share this page: 

Commissiners hearings - L to R, top to bottom:Ferdinando NELLI FEROCI, Jacek DOMINIK, Martine REICHERTS, Jyrki KATAINEN©EP  

The candidatures of four candidate EU Commissioners, nominated to replace those who left to become MEPs, were approved by Parliament on Wednesday. The four are to serve for the rest of the Commission’s current term, which expires on 31 October 2014. They were given committee hearings on Monday.

The plenary voted en bloc in favour of appointing the four candidates to become EU Commissioners by 421 votes in favour, 170 against and 32 abstentions. In line with Parliament's Rules of Procedure, the Commissioners-designate appeared before the committees in their areas of responsibility last Monday (for further details, see press release at link on the right).

Candidates and proposed portfolios

Jyrki Katainen (Finland) for Economic and Monetary Affairs and the Euro, to replace Olli Rehn.

Ferdinando Nelli Feroci (Italy) for Industry and Entrepreneurship, to replace Antonio Tajani.

Martine Reicherts (Luxembourg) for Justice, Fundamental Rights and CitizenshipMs Reicherts, to replace Viviane Reding.

Jacek Dominik (Poland) for Financial Programming and Budget, to replace Janusz Lewandowski.

Next steps

The Council’s final go-ahead for the candidates to take office is expected soon. All documents concerning the hearings will be posted on the committees' respective webpages.

Procedure: Consultation

#EU #Commissioners #hearings