EP should vote on the CAP reform in October, lead Agriculture Committee MEPs say 

Press Releases 

Majority of political groups’ coordinators in the Agriculture Committee agreed on Tuesday on a procedure that should lead to the plenary vote on the EU farm policy reform in late October.

Following the meeting on Tuesday of coordinators of political groups in the Agriculture Committee, the committee Chair Norbert Lins (EPP, DE) said:

“The Agriculture Committee as a lead committee on the EU farm policy reform will continue to work hard to ensure that the Parliament can approve a strong mandate for its negotiators already in the second half of October. This would allow us to start interinstitutional negotiations under the German Council Presidency.”

“We are well aware of our responsibility to EU citizens, farmers and to the environment. The agri-food sector needs to be able to plan ahead and we will do our utmost to deliver the new Common Agricultural Policy as early as possible.”

“A majority of committee coordinators therefore decided today to ask political groups to deliver their position on the green architecture of the future CAP right after the summer break. CAP reform rapporteurs Peter Jahr (EPP, DE), Ulrike Müller (RE, DE) and Eric Andrieu (S&D, FR) will then be in charge of negotiating plenary-level compromise amendments under the leadership of the Agriculture Committee with a view to holding a plenary vote during the 19 - 22 October plenary session.”

“The current pandemic has proved once again the importance of EU agriculture in ensuring the food security for all. The Agriculture Committee will therefore, with the bigger picture in mind, continue to work efficiently, constructively and tirelessly, albeit under high pressure, to deliver a better and greener CAP for our farmers and citizens and to provide the sector with legal certainty as soon as possible.”


The EU farm policy reform is closely linked to the negotiations on the post-2020 EU long-term budget. The reform package will be co-decided by the European Parliament and the Council.