Anna Cavazzini elected Chair of Internal Market and Consumer Protection Committee 

Press Releases 

The Internal Market and Consumer Protection Committee appointed its new Chair Anna Cavazzini (Greens/EFA, DE) on Monday, as well as first Vice-Chair Andrus Ansip (Renew, ET).

In a statement released shortly after her election, the Chair said:


“The COVID-19 crisis has shown that we cannot take the achievements of the EU’s internal market for granted. Closed borders and interrupted supply chains have brought the essence of European integration into sharp relief: working together across borders. We have to defend the future integrity of the single market, but we must also update it. High social, environmental and consumer standards are cornerstones of the single market. Upholding these standards should be at the forefront of the digital transformation, which should benefit European citizens and businesses alike.


The Internal Market Committee is elaborating the EU Green Deal and working on new challenges that digitalisation brings, such as the regulation of online platforms via the Digital Services Act or a more sustainable product policy through the circular economy. We are striving to make these transformations successful for both the economy and EU citizens whose daily lives will benefit from our efforts. The Internal Market Committee thus serves to bring citizens closer to the EU decision-making process.


I hope that the Internal Market Committee can be a central forum to discuss the future challenges of the green and digital transformations – not only within Parliament but also in exchange with civil society, all stakeholders and citizens. I want this dialogue and subsequent decisions to be accessible, whether with regards to strengthening the single market while maintaining high social and environmental standards, making the single market fit for the green deal, or considering how to increase citizens’ trust in the EU by ensuring the highest levels of consumer protection.”




Following her appointment as deputy prime minister of the new Belgian government, former Chairwoman Petra de Sutter resigned as an MEP on 1 October.


The first vice-chair position has been vacant until now.