Frontex: MEPs to investigate alleged violations of fundamental rights 

Press Releases 

The new EP Frontex Scrutiny Working Group (FSWG) will monitor all aspects of the functioning of the border agency, including its compliance with fundamental rights.

Following a decision by the Civil Liberties committee coordinators on 29 January, fourteen MEPs -two per political group- will assess Frontex activities and organisation, including its reinforced role and resources for integrated border management and the correct application of the EU acquis.

The constitutive meeting will be held on Tuesday 23 February. Within the first four months of its existence, the FSWG should carry out a fact-finding investigation, gathering all relevant information and evidence regarding alleged violations of fundamental rights in which the Agency was involved. The Frontex Scrutiny WG meetings will take place twice per month.

List of members

EPP: Ms Roberta METSOLA (MT) and Ms Lena DÜPONT (DE)

S&D: Ms Bettina VOLLATH (AT) and Mr Javier MORENO SANCHEZ (ES)

Renew: Mr Malik AZMANI (NL) and Mr Dragos TUDORACHE (RO)

ID: Mr Nicolas BAY (FR) and Mr Peter KOFOD (DK)


ECR: Mr Patryk Tomas JAKI (PL) and Mr Jorge BUXADÉ VILLALBA (ES)

The Left - GUE/NGL: Ms Sira REGO (ES) and Ms Cornelia ERNST (DE)