MEPs travel to Ireland to discuss tax matters 

Press Releases 

Members of the European Parliament’s subcommittee on tax matters will travel to Ireland next week to meet government representatives, parliamentarians, stakeholders and multinationals.

The delegation will be in Dublin from the 19th to the 20th September. It will meet with representatives of key institutions, such as the Department of Finance, the Revenue Commissioners and the Finance Committee and the Committee for Budgetary Oversight of the Irish Parliament (Oirechtas), as well as stakeholders from the private sector including Apple, Google, Microsoft and Facebook, experts and academics, NGOs, and civil society organisations. A press conference will be organised at the end of the delegation on Tuesday at 14:15 (GMT). A draft programme can be found here.

The discussions will focus on topical international tax issues and challenges, such as the implementation of the OECD's two-pillar tax reform, the implementation of key EU laws in the area of taxation, including on exchange of tax information and anti-tax abuse measures, the reactions to the Pandora Papers, ongoing negotiations on EU tax files, such as the Unshell Directive or DEBRA, and other measures to combat tax avoidance and tax evasion.

Explaining the purpose of the delegation visit, Mr Tang said:

“The call for fair taxation is growing rapidly. This is also true for Ireland. Yet the huge money flows through Ireland and the frequent tax scandals show that to get there, much remains to be done.

“The delegates from the European Parliament will travel to Ireland to discuss how the country can put a halt to the loss in tax revenues for its European allies, and become a driving force for a fair European tax system.

“Introducing a global minimum tax and fighting shell companies are just some of the ways in which Ireland can show Europe it no longer deserves the label of ‘tax haven’ the European Parliament attached to it and other EU countries in 2019.”

The delegation will be composed of six MEPs:

Paul Tang, Chair of the subcommittee (S&D, NL)

Isabel Benjumea (EPP, ES)

Luděk Niedermayer (EPP, CZ)

Aurore Lalucq (S&D, FR)

Claude Gruffat (Greens/EFA, FR)

Manon Aubry (The Left, FR)