MEPs back Danish, Irish and Spanish candidates for the Court of Auditors 

Press Releases 

Parliament endorsed extending the mandates of European auditors Bettina Jakobsen and Tony Murphy, and approved the candidacy of Alejandro Blanco Fernández, nominated by Spain.

Irish member Tony Murphy, current president of the European Court of Auditors, was backed by 496 MEPs, with 19 voting against and 33 abstaining. He has represented Ireland in the Court since 2018 and became its President in September 2022.

The renewal of the mandate of Danish member Bettina Michelle Jakobsen was backed by 521 MEPs, with 16 voting against and 30 abstaining. She has represented Denmark in the European Court of Auditors since September 2015.

Alejandro Blanco Fernández, a new nomination by the Spanish government, received a positive assessment from Parliament, with 431 MEPs voting in favour, 108 against and 32 abstaining.

Mr Blanco Fernandez has been working in the permanent representation of Spain to the European Union since 2015, coordinating negotiations on legislative files. Before that, he worked at the European Commission as a national expert in the Internal Audit and Advisory Unit.

All candidates were subject to vetting by the Budgetary Control Committee who held hearings on 12 October.

The final decision will be taken by EU member states.


The EU Treaty allows each member state to propose its candidate for the European Court of Auditors. Member states, after consulting Parliament, adopt the chosen nominees for a six-year term.