Lux Film Prize 2019 award ceremony 

EP President David Sassoli will unveil the winner of the 2019 Lux Prize on Wednesday in the Strasbourg hemicycle, in the presence of the film directors.

The 2019 finalist films are Cold Case Hammarskjöld (Denmark/Norway/Sweden/Belgium) by Mads Brügger, God Exists, Her Name Is Petrunya (North Macedonia/Belgium/Slovenia/Croatia/France) by Teona Mitevska and The Realm (Spain/France) by Rodrigo Sorogoyen.

Parliament is covering the subtitling costs for the three finalist films in all 24 official EU languages and is producing a digital cinema package (DCP) for each EU country.

The winning film will be adapted for the visually and hearing impaired and receive additional promotional support. The 2019 Lux Film Prize winner is selected by MEPs.

A press conference by EP Vice-President Klara Dobrev (S&D, HU), Culture committee chair Sabine Verheyen (EPP, DE) with the directors of the three films is scheduled for 15.30 on Wednesday, 27 November.

The Lux Film Prize is dedicated to promoting European cinema by supporting the dissemination of European productions and sparking a Europe-wide debate on major political and societal issues. It was first awarded in 2007.

Award of the LUX Prize

Award ceremony: Wednesday, 27 November at 13.00

Press conference Wednesday, 27 November at 15.30