Four Presidents mark ten years of the Lisbon Treaty in House of European History 


To celebrate the 10th anniversary of the Lisbon Treaty, European Parliament President David Sassoli is hosting a ceremony in the House of European History on 1 December.

At noon on Sunday, President Sassoli will be joined by European Commission President Ursula von der Leyen, European Council President Charles Michel and European Central Bank President Christine Lagarde to mark the 10th anniversary of the entry into force of the Lisbon Treaty. On the same day, a new chapter for Europe begins, as the newly elected Commission President, Ursula von der Leyen as well as the new President of the European Council, Charles Michel will officially take office.


12.00 Protocol entrance of the House of European History
Photo opportunity on the main staircase of the Protocol entrance

12.15 House of European History
The four Presidents will have a short, private visit of selected exhibition areas of the House of European History
No media access but video and photos will be available on EbS and via websites of the four institutions.

12.40 Salle des Fables (1st floor)
Statements by the four Presidents to the press

After the statements, Presidents Sassoli and Michel will hand a copy of the Treaty of Lisbon to President von der Leyen.

Accreditation and access

Journalists who hold an inter-institutional badge or annual badge delivered by the Parliament can enter the House of European History for the event from 10:00.

Those who do not have a badge need to request short-term accreditation through Parliament’s registration website, by 20:00 on Friday 29 November. Badges can be collected at the entrance of the House of European History from 11:00 on Sunday.