Timeline of events 


Distribuiți această pagină: 


22-25 May 2014: citizens of 28 European Union Member States elected 751 members of the European Parliament. The EPP again emerged as the biggest political group in Parliament, with 221 MEPs. The EPP party candidate for Commission President, Jean-Claude Juncker, a former Prime Minister of Luxembourg and Eurogroup chairman, was therefore first in line to seek the support of EP political groups for his nomination.

27 June 2014: the European Council of EU government leaders officially nominated Mr Juncker as its candidate for President of the next European Commission, with 26 countries in favour and two against.

8 and 9 July: Mr Juncker made a statement to Parliament in plenary session in Strasbourg, followed by a debate with the political group leaders. MEPs elected him as Commission President with 422 votes in favour, 250 against and 47 abstentions out of 729 votes cast.

mid-July: the Commission sent Member States requests to propose their candidate Commissioners.

30 August: the European Council appointed Ms Federica Mogherini as the High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy and candidate Vice-President of the Commission and Mr Donald Tusk as next President of European Council.

5 September: Incoming Commission President presented the list of Commissioners-designate.

10 September: Commission President Juncker announced the allocation of portfolios to the various candidate Commissioners and set out his plans for the future organisation of the European Commission.

16 - 18 September: the Conference of Committee Chairs and Conference of Presidents of the EP decided how the hearings will be held, i.e. before which forums each Commissioner-designate will have to appear, and finalised the time schedule for the hearings. Committees sent written questions to the Commissioners-designate.

26 September noon: deadline for candidates to reply to written questions