Representatives of National Parliaments

The Directorate for Relations with National Parliaments welcomes and hosts the administrative representatives designated by the EU national Parliaments/Chambers to the European Parliament. Since 1991 (2016 marked the 25th anniversary of the arrangement) and with a view to strengthening interparliamentary cooperation within the EU, the European Parliament has offered representatives complimentary office and other in-house facilities upon request, on its Brussels and Strasbourg premises. Over time, all EU national Parliaments have sent a national official to Brussels to facilitate relations with the EU. The representatives work in the same European Parliament building that houses the Directorate for Relations with National Parliaments. This creates numerous synergies and promotes easy exchanges. These representatives are national officials whose role is administrative and neutral: their task of mutual information (as a two-way flow between the European Parliament and the national Parliaments) is a key factor in EU affairs, because the ultimate goal of these exchanges is very concrete, namely to find common responses at parliamentary level to the many challenges facing the European Union.

National Parliament contacts

Almost all national Parliaments of the EU Member States have officials representing them in Brussels. This list gives you an overview of the national Parliament representatives.
Further information