Go back to the Europarl portal

Choisissez la langue de votre document :

  • bg - български
  • es - español
  • cs - čeština
  • da - dansk
  • de - Deutsch
  • et - eesti keel
  • el - ελληνικά
  • en - English (Selected)
  • fr - français
  • ga - Gaeilge
  • hr - hrvatski
  • it - italiano
  • lv - latviešu valoda
  • lt - lietuvių kalba
  • hu - magyar
  • mt - Malti
  • nl - Nederlands
  • pl - polski
  • pt - português
  • ro - română
  • sk - slovenčina
  • sl - slovenščina
  • fi - suomi
  • sv - svenska
 Full text 
Post-briefing item

End of the Identity , Tradition and Sovereignty political group as Romanian MEPs leave

Institutions - 16-11-2007 - 12:46
Share / Save
Social networking sites

Vice-President of the European Parliament Edward McMillan-Scott (EPP-ED, UK), announced the end of the Identity, Tradition and Sovereignty Group in the European Parliament as they fell below the required number of MEPs (20) needed to form a political group. The announcement was made at the end of the voting session in Strasbourg.

Mr McMillan-Scott, who was chairing the sitting, said: "I have today received letters from Mrs Daniela Buruianä-Aprodu and Mr Cristian Stanescu announcing their decision to leave the ITS Group. Parliament takes note of this decision with effect from today, 14 November 2007.
Taken together with the announcements already made this week concerning 3 Members leaving the group, I conclude that the number of members of the ITS Group has now fallen below the minimum of 20 Members required to form a political group laid down by Rule 29, paragraph 2. (see link)
Parliament therefore takes note of the fact that the ITS Group no longer fulfils the conditions of the Rules of Procedure for the formation of a group. As a consequence, the group ceases to exist with effect from the moment of this announcement."