Vacancy for a Parliament Vice-President

At a Glance 05-11-2020

On 7 October 2020, the European Parliament approved by an overwhelming majority the appointment of Mairead McGuinness as European Commissioner for Financial Services, Financial Stability and Capital Markets Union, as well as the change of portfolio of Commission Executive Vice-President Valdis Dombrovskis, to become the new Trade Commissioner. Mairead McGuinness was subsequently appointed by the Council (Article 246 of the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union, TFEU) on 12 October and thus ceased to be a Member of the European Parliament as well as its first Vice-President. Parliament is expected to hold a vote on the election of a new Vice-President during the November I plenary part-session.