North Macedonia

At a Glance 12-04-2024

North Macedonia gained independence from the former Yugoslavia in 1991. The country applied for EU membership in March 2004 and was granted EU candidate status in December 2005. As part of the June 2018 Prespa Agreement, the country changed its name to the Republic of North Macedonia, in exchange for Greece ending its veto on its EU and NATO accession. The first intergovernmental conference on 19 July 2022 marked the beginning of accession negotiations. The Government of the Republic of North Macedonia, led by Prime Minister Talat Xhaferi since January 2024, continues to deepen relations with the EU. This 'At a glance' note has been produced at the request of a member of the European Committee of the Regions, in the framework of the cooperation agreement between the Parliament and the Committee.