Priority dossiers under the Estonian EU Council Presidency

Briefing 15-06-2017

Estonia will hold the EU Council Presidency from July to December 2017. Its presidency will herald a new Trio Presidency, composed of Estonia, Bulgaria and Austria. This will be the first time Estonia holds the rotating presidency. Estonia is currently led by a government coalition consisting of three political parties: the Estonian Centre Party (Eesti Keskerakond), the Social Democratic Party (Sotsiaaldemokraatlik Erakond) and the Pro Patria and Res Publica Union (Isamaa ja Res Publica Liit). Its Prime Minister, Jüri Ratas, in office since November 2016, belongs to the Estonian Centre Party. Estonia is a republic divided into 15 counties. It has a unicameral parliamentary system with 101 Members of Parliament, elected by proportional representation. On 15 October 2017, local municipality elections will be held, followed by parliamentary (Riigikogu) elections in 2019.