Näytetään 5 / 5 tulokset

'Paradise papers' in a nutshell

Lyhyesti 13-11-2017

The latest leak of tax-related documents, known as the ‘Paradise papers’, was made public on 5 November 2017. The results of a joint investigation are now being released in instalments. The papers provide additional evidence on the involvement of offshore law firms in tax optimisation practices.

The use of offshore entities that facilitate money laundering, tax avoidance and tax evasion undermines the fair distribution of the tax burden in onshore jurisdictions. The Panama Papers shed some light on the activities that are usually conducted in secrecy, with the disclosure of information on 213,634 offshore entities in jurisdictions such as the British Virgin Islands, Panama and the Seychelles. This analysis assesses the role of advisors (tax experts, legal experts, administrators, investment ...

As of April 2016, the International Consortium of Investigative Journalists together with numerous reporting partners from around the world, started revealing more than 214,000 offshore entities, connected to people in more than 200 countries and territories, including EU Member States. Following these revelations, commonly known as the Panama Papers, the European Parliament decided to set up a special Committee of Inquiry to investigate alleged contraventions and maladministration in the application ...

'Panama papers' in a nutshell

Lyhyesti 08-04-2016

The 'Panama papers' have shone new light on the practices, policies and measures used by tax-payers and tax jurisdictions which render revenues and tax bases opaque, thus reducing tax bills and resulting in lost revenue for countries. However, even before this story broke, the subject had not been out of the headlines in recent months, and the main difference to previous revelations is the sheer bulk of cases, covering a huge number of tax-payers in many countries.

The year 2013 brought much attention to the Pacific Alliance (Alianza del Pacífico), the most recent regional integration initiative in Latin America. Building on the existing free trade agreements between them, the four members of the Alliance - Chile, Colombia, Mexico and Peru - have set the goal of advancing towards the free movement of goods, services, capitals and people, with the objective of creating an 'area of deep integration' to stimulate economic growth and competitiveness. Since it ...