New European Commission: the commissioners and their portfolios

The new European Commission, led by Jean-Claude Juncker, has now been formally elected by the European Parliament in Strasbourg with 423 votes in favour, 209 against and 67 abstentions. It will starts its five-year term on 1 November. Find out more about its composition, the new commissioners and their portfolios in our infographic.

infographic illustration
Check out our infographic to find out who the new commissioners are

The European Commission can only enter office once it has been approved by the European Parliament. As part of the scrutiny process, all candidate commissioners were questioned by MEPs to assess their suitability for the post.

For more on the new Commission and the hearings that preceded the vote please visit our special page and click on the links on the right for additional information.

Further information