Sakharov Prize 2022: the finalists

The finalists for the 2022 Sakharov Prize are Julian Assange, the people of Ukraine and their representatives and the Colombian Truth Commission.

Sakharov Prize 2022: finalists chosen (L-R) Julian Assange, co-founder of WikiLeaks organisation; The brave people of Ukraine, represented by their president, elected leaders, and civil society; Colombia’s Truth Commission.
Sakharov Prize 2022 finalists

This year’s finalists for the European Parliament's Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought, chosen at a joint meeting of the foreign affairs and development committees on 13 October, are:

  • Julian Assange, co-founder of Wikileaks
  • The brave people of Ukraine, represented by their president, elected leaders, and civil society
  • The Truth Commission in Colombia

Julian Assange


As one of the co-founders of the WikiLeaks association, Assange provided world-leading newspapers with documents concerning war crimes, arbitrary detentions, human rights violations and torture. He has been held in prison in the UK and is currently facing extradition to the United States to stand trial on charges of espionage and computer misuse.

The brave people of Ukraine, represented by their president, elected leaders, and civil society

Russia’s unprovoked war of aggression against Ukraine, launched in February 2022, is inflicting enormous costs on the Ukrainian people in terms of lives lost and towns and villages reduced to ruins. According to the nomination, the Ukrainian people are fighting to protect their homes, sovereignty, independence and territorial integrity, but every day they are also fighting for freedom, democracy, the rule of law and European values on the battlefields.

The nomination singles out Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelenskyy for his bravery, endurance and devotion to his people. It also mentions the role of individuals, representatives of civil society initiatives and state and public institutions such as, among others, the State Emergency Services of Ukraine; Yulia Pajevska, founder of the evacuation medical unit Angels of Taira; Oleksandra Matviychuk, human rights lawyer and activist; the Yellow Ribbon Civil Resistance Movement; and Ivan Fedorov, the mayor of the Ukrainian city of Melitopol, which is currently occupied by Russian forces.

The Truth Commission in Colombia

The Truth Commission in Colombia is an institution created under a 2016 peace agreement to end the Colombian civil war in 2016. It aims to establish the facts about the human rights violations during the conflict and to advocate for the rights of millions of its victims. The nomination pays tribute to the civil war victims and is described as an opportunity to support the peace process. It mentions the names of Francisco de Roux, Alejandro Valencia Villa, Marta Ruiz Naranjo, Alfredo Molano Bravo (posthumously), Alejandro Castillejo, Saúl Alonso Franco, Lucía Victoria González, Patricia Tobón Yagarí, Alejandra Miller, Leyner Palacios, Ángela Salazar Murillo (posthumously), and Carlos Martin Beristain.

The finalists were selected by MEPs from a longer list of nominations made by political groups or groups of at least 40 MEPs. Find out more about the 2022 Sakharov nominees.



The annual Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought has been awarded to individuals and organisations defending human rights and fundamental freedoms since 1988. It is named in honour of Soviet physicist and political dissident Andrei Sakharov and the prize money is €50,000. In 2021, the prize went to Russian opposition leader Alexei Navalny for his fight against corruption and the Kremlin's abuses of human rights.

Next steps

  • 19 October: the winner is decided by Parliament President Roberta Metsola and the political group leaders
  • 14 December: award ceremony in Strasbourg