skip to content
EP Strasbourg building
EP Strasbourg building

The European Parliament

The European Parliament is directly elected by citizens of the 27 EU member countries. It is made up of 705 elected Members (MEPs). Elections take place across the EU every five years under a system of proportional representation.

Your MEPs have the power to make European laws in nearly all areas of EU activity, together with Council of the European Union. The European Parliament also approves the budget of the European Union, elects the European Commissioners and the Commission President and has the power to sack the whole body of Commissioners.

EU flag
The EU is made up of over 447 million people from 27 Member States. It is founded on a series of treaties which all 27 national governments have signed up to.
Read more