Please fill this field

Textos de la UE

Statement on the poisoning of Mr. Alexei Navalny with a nerve agent

Brussels, 04 September 2020 - "The findings, recently announced by the German government, that specialists have confirmed unequivocal evidence that Mr Alexei Navalny has been poisoned with a chemical nerve-agent (Novichok), and the fact that his health remains in a serious condition at the Charité hospital in Berlin, are very disturbing news.

We call on the Russian authorities to launch immediately a transparent investigation to punish severely the perpetrators and organisers of this horrible crime, which is projected also over the numerous Russian citizens supporting Mr Navalny and his initiatives. [...]

EU-Russia Partnership and Cooperation Agreement

The "Agreement on Partnership and Cooperation establishing a partnership between the European Communities and their Member States, of one part, and the Russian Federation, of the other part" was signed in June 1994 and came into force in 1997, initially for 10 years. Since 2007 it has been renewed annually.

The Agreement established a political framework for regular consultation between the EU and Russia, including through a Parliamentary Cooperation Committee consisting of MEPs and members of the Federal Assembly of the Russian Federation.

The Partnership and Cooperation Agreement is complemented by sectorial agreements covering policy areas including political dialogue, trade, science and technology, education, energy and environment, transport, and prevention of illegal activities.

The treaty was supposed to be upgraded through the negotiation of a New EU-Russia Agreement, providing a comprehensive framework for bilateral relations. The new agreement was to build on WTO rules and include stable and balanced rules for bilateral trade and investment relations. Negotiations started in 2008, but they were stopped in 2010 because no progress could be made in the trade and investment discussions. In 2014, against the background of the crisis in Ukraine, negotiations were formally suspended.

Today with the establishment of the Eurasian Economic Union between Russia, Kazakhstan, Belarus, Armenia and Kyrgyzstan, and with Russia's difficulties in fulfilling its WTO commitments, it is not clear how further progresses can be achieved in the area of trade and investment, and what could be done to advance a new agreement.