Please fill this field

Textos da UE

EU-GCC Cooperation Agreement, 1998

An exchange of letters in 1998 established the Cooperation Agreement between the EU and the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC). The Agreement - officially titled the "Cooperation Agreement between the European Economic Community, of the one part, and the countries parties to the Charter of the Cooperation Council for the Arab States of the Gulf (the State of the United Arab Emirates, the State of Bahrain, the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, the Sultanate of Oman, the State of Qatar and the State of Kuwait) of the other part" - was signed in Luxembourg on 15 June 1998 and entered into force on 1 January 1990.

The treaty provided for extensive cooperation in a number of fields (economy, agriculture, fisheries, industry, science, energy, technology, environment, etc.) and in particular for the transfer of technology by means of joint ventures and the joint analysis of the oil, gas and petroleum products markets. Regarding trade, the Agreement provides only for the most-favoured-nation clause.