EU trade with Latin America and the Caribbean: Overview and figures

Study 12-07-2023

Collectively, the 33 countries forming the Community of Latin American and Caribbean States (CELAC) are the EU's fifth largest trading partner. Offering an overview of trade relations between the EU and Latin American and Caribbean countries (Chile, Cuba and Mexico) and groupings (the Andean Community, Cariforum, the Central American group (Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua and Panama), and the founding members of Mercosur (Argentina, Brazil, Paraguay and Uruguay), this study contains recent trade data available as of May 2023, describes key features of the agreements governing trade relations already in force and takes stock of the results of recent external ex-post evaluations of the implementation of trade agreements concluded with Cariforum, Central America and Colombia/Ecuador/Peru. The study also looks at the state of play on modernisation of the trade pillars of the 2002 EU Chile Association Agreement and the 1997 EU-Mexico Global Agreement (on which negotiations concluded with agreements in principle in 2022 and 2020 respectively), and the latest developments regarding the trade pillar of the new EU-Mercosur Association Agreement on which an agreement in principle was reached in 2019.