Please fill this field


D-UA: Delegation to the EU-Ukraine Parliamentary Association Committee

The European Parliament's Delegation to the EU-Ukraine Parliamentary Association Committee (D-UA) is responsible for developing relations with the parliament of Ukraine, the Verkhovna Rada.

As the name of the Delegation indicates, a specific forum - a "Parliamentary Association Committee" - has been established to bring together elected representatives of both parliaments.

The Committee met for the first time in February 2015, a few months after the European Parliament named the members of the Delegation to the Committee, in September 2014.

In the few years since its inauguration, the Delegation - like the Committee it participates in - has become a major, visible forum for debate on Ukraine and EU-Ukraine relations.

Members and Chair

The European Parliament's Delegation counts 16 full members, supported by a strong cohort of substitute members.

The Chair of the European Parliament's Delegation is Dariusz Rosati, a Polish member of the Group of the European People's Party in the Parliament. He is supported by two Vice-Chairs: MEPs Tibor Szanyi, a Hungarian Member from the Socialist and Democrat group, and Urmas Paet, and Estonian Member from the ALDE group (Alliance of Liberals and Democrats in Europe).

As Chair of the European Parliament's Delegation, Mr Rosati is also co-chair of the EU-Ukraine Parliamentary Association Committee. Mikola Kniazhytskyi, member of the Verkhovna Rada, is the co-chair.

Delegation work

The Delegation meets regularly in Brussels and Strasbourg.

The Delegation hosts exchanges of views and hearings dedicated to developments in Ukraine and in EU-Ukraine relations, and works hand-in-hand with other bodies of the European Parliament, e.g. through joint meetings or joints initiatives, including with:
  • the Committee on Foreign Affairs,
  • the Committee on International Trade,
  • the Sub-Committee on Human Rights,
  • the Sub-Committee on Security and Defence,
  • the Committee on Legal Affairs,
  • the Democracy Support and Election Coordination Group.

The Delegation also cooperates with other EU institutions and services working on Ukrainian issues:

  • the European External Action Service,
  • the European Commission - in particular the Support Group Ukraine in DG NEAR and DG ECHO for the humanitarian issues,
  • the Committee of the Regions and its Ukraine Taskforce,
  • the EU-Ukraine Civil Society Platform established by the Association Agreement.

When there are important developments affecting Ukraine or EU-Ukraine relations, the Delegation's Chair often publishes statements.

The Parliamentary Association Committee

The Parliamentary Association Committee has met eight times since it was formed, most recently in September 2018. Venues have alternated between Ukraine and the European Parliament's premises in either Strasbourg or Brussels.

As the Committee's final recommendations reveal, the forum serves as a productive, lively platform to discuss all aspects of the EU-Ukraine relationship, the reform process (including legislative approximation with the EU in the framework of implementation of Association Agreement) and security situation in Ukraine, as well as other issues of mutual interest.

The Committee has developed a system of specialisation for its members, who work in tandem to monitor specific policy areas.

The Committee's members aim to spur successful democratic and economic reforms in Ukraine and the country's closer integration with the EU.

Origins of the Parliamentary Association Committee

This legal basis of the Committee lies in the Association Agreement between the by the EU and Ukraine, signed on 27 June 2014.

Article 467 of the agreement spelled out the creation and purpose of the Committee.

Article 467 of the Association Agreement between the EU and Ukraine

Association Agreement between the EU and Ukraine

Article 467

1. A Parliamentary Association Committee is hereby established. It shall be a forum for Members of the European Parliament and of the Verkhovna Rada of Ukraine to meet and exchange views. It shall meet at intervals which it shall itself determine.

2. The Parliamentary Association Committee shall consist of Members of the European Parliament, on the one hand, and of Members of the Verkhovna Rada of Ukraine, on the other.

3. The Parliamentary Association Committee shall establish its own rules of procedure.

4. The Parliamentary Association Committee shall be chaired in turn by a representative of the European Parliament and a representative of the Verkhovna Rada of Ukraine respectively, in accordance with the provisions to be laid down in its rules of procedure.