EU-Serbia Stabilisation and Association Agreement

The "Stabilisation and Association Agreement between the European Communities and their Member States of the one part, and the Republic of Serbia, of the other part" was signed in Luxembourg on 29 April 2008 and entered into force on 1 September 2013.

The Stabilisation and Association Agreement (SAA) constitutes the framework of relations between the European Union and Serbia for the implementation of the Stabilisation and Association Process. The SAA identifies common political and economic objectives and encourage regional co-operation. In the context of accession to the European Union, the agreement serves as the basis for implementation of the accession process.

The objective of the Agreement is to establish an Association with Serbia in order to support the efforts of Serbia to strengthen democracy and the rule of law, contribute to political, economic and institutional stability in Serbia and support the efforts of Serbia to develop its economic and international cooperation, including through the approximation of its legislation to that of the European Union.

The Stabilisation and Association Agreement focuses on provisions for political dialogue with Serbia. It provides the perspective of the establishment of a free-trade area between the Community and Serbia within five years of the entry into force of the Agreement.

It includes provisions on the movement of workers, freedom of establishment, supply of services, current payments and movement of capital and the commitment by Serbia to approximate its legislation to that of the EC, notably in key areas of the internal market.

Article 125 of the Agreement establishes a Stabilisation and Association Parliamentary Committee as "a forum for Members of the Parliament of Serbia and of the European Parliament to meet and exchange views."