A word from the chair

Welcome to the website of the European Parliament's Delegation to the Caribbean-EU Parliamentary Assembly. This delegation is newly created following the coming into force of the Samoa Agreement, which in January 2024 replaced the Cotonou Agreement from 2000. All our Members are also Members of the OACPS- EU Joint Parliamentary Assembly.

I am thankful for the trust that the members of the EU Delegation to the Caribbean-EU Parliamentary Assembly have placed in me by electing me as their Chair.

I am committed to ensure that the EU Delegation to the Caribbean-EU Parliamentary Assembly makes a good contribution to strengthening the partnership between Europe and the Caribbean.

I count on all the elected members of this Joint Assembly and on the technical and political teams that support them, so that together we can transform a genuine desire of cooperation and development into tangible results in people's quality of life and make these first moments under the Samoa Agreement successful.

Jadwiga Wisniewska

Please scroll down to see our latest news !

You can also visit and bookmark our new OACPS-EU JPA website at www.europarl.europa.eu/acp

1st Session of the OACPS-EU Joint Parliamentary Assembly, Angola 19-21 Feb 2024

13-03-2024 - 16:43

Constitutive meetings of three regional Parliamentary Assemblies and constitutive meeting and the 1st session of the OACPS-EU Joint Parliamentary Assembly - 19-21 February 2024

The constitutive meetings of the OACPS-EU four new Parliamentary Assemblies established by the Samoa Agreement will be held from Monday 19 to Wednesday 21 February 2024 in the National Assembly, in Luanda, Angola.

Members of the European Parliament will meet their counterparts to launch the new joint institutions and to celebrate the entering into force of the Samoa Agreement, signed on 15 November 2023, replacing the Cotonou agreement adopted in 2000 and the former Lomé Convention of 1975.

The Organisation of African, Caribbean and Pacific States (OACPS) and European Union (EU) will set "A New Dawn in OACPS-EU Relations: Towards a People-Led Partnership"

Delegation meeting on Thursday 18 January 2024 in Strasbourg

30-01-2024 - 16:24

The European Parliament met on 18 January in Strasbourg to elect the new Bureau Members for the DAFR - Delegation to the Africa-EU Parliamentary Assembly; the DCAB - Delegation to the Caribbean-EU Parliamentary Assembly and the DPAC - Delegation to the Pacific-EU Parliamentary Assembly and the DACP - Delegation to the OACPS-EU Joint Parliamentary Assembly.

Following the signing of the Samoa agreement, three new regional parliamentary assemblies (PA) will now complement the OACPS-EU Joint Parliamentary Assembly - an Africa-EU PA, a Caribbean-EU PA and a Pacific-EU PA.

The new Bureau Members elected for the Caribbean-EU Parliamentary Assembly (DCAB) are:

- Jadwiga Wisniewska from the ECR Group as its Chair,

- Marie-Pierre Vedrenne from the Renew Group as its 1st Vice-Chair, and

- Marian Marinescu from the EPP Group as its 2nd Vice-Chair