Veuillez remplir ce champ

Welcome from the former Chair

Welcome to the webpages of the Delegation for relations with Canada, which I had the honour to chair from 2014-2019.

The Canada delegation is one of the oldest in the European Parliament, bearing testimony to the long-standing partnership between Canada and the European Union.

The relationship between the EU and Canada has entered a new phase of our relationship, following the signature of the Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA) and the Strategic Partnership Agreement (SPA). These landmark agreements open new opportunities to deepen even further our close economic and political relationship.

The Delegation for relations with Canada closely follows the developments in our bilateral relations.

In addition to annual inter-parliamentary meetings with our counterparts in the Canada-Europe Parliamentary Association of the Parliament of Canada, we held regular meetings in the European Parliament.

During the last parliamentary term, our delegation also deepened and intensified our dialogue with the Parliament of Canada, as exemplified in the joint statement adopted during the 38th EU-Canada inter-parliamentary meeting on 22 June 2017.

You are welcome to follow the activities on this website.

Bernd Kölmel, D-CA Chair 2014-2019

Latest news

10-09-2019 10:42
  • The constituent meeting of the Delegation for relations with Canada (D-CA) will be held on 26 September 2019. The calendar of meetings will be adopted thereafter.
  • The 40th Inter-Parliamentary meeting (IPM) took place in Strasbourg on 14 March 2019. The Members of the Canadian House of Commons and the European Parliament had deep and wide-ranging exchanges of views in two working sessions. In the first working session, Members debated recent political developments in the EU and Canada (such as EP and Canadian elections, including migration and environment/climate change and Brexit). During the second, they considered trade (CETA implementation and USMCA/trade relationship with the US). The Co-Presidents also signed a joint statement after the meeting.