Teksty UE

The ACP-EU Partnership Agreement ("Cotonou Agreement"), 23 June 2000

The ACP-EU Partnership Agreement, signed in Cotonou on 23 June 2000, was concluded for a 20-year period from 2000 to 2020.

It is the most comprehensive partnership agreement between developing countries and the EU. The fundamental principles of the Cotonou Agreement include equality of partners, global participation (States and non-state actors), dialogue and regionalisation.

The Agreement entered into force in April 2003 and has been revised in 2005 and 2010 in accordance with the revision clause to re-examine the Agreement every five years.

In the 2010 revision, ACP-EU cooperation was adapted to new challenges such as climate change, food security, regional integration, State fragility and aid effectiveness.

The Cotonou Agreement was designed to establish a comprehensive partnership with 3 pillars:
  • Development cooperation
  • Political cooperation
  • Economic and trade cooperation (for the period 2000-2007).