Съобщения за пресата

Serbia must deliver on electoral reform ahead of the 2020 elections, 31 October 2019

EP Delegation Chair Tanja Fajon calls on Serbia to implement concrete electoral reforms and invites opposition parties to take part in the 2020 elections

MEPs and Members of the National Assembly of the Republic of Serbia met in Belgrade on 30-31 October for the 11th meeting of the EU‑Serbia Stabilisation and Association Parliamentary Committee.

The meeting was co-chaired by Ms Tanja FAJON (S&D, SL) and Mr Vladimir Orlić (SNS). Parliamentarians held in-depth and fruitful discussions on a number of important issues, including the implementation of the EU-Serbia Stabilisation and Association Agreement, Serbia's progress in rule of law areas, the Dialogue between Serbia and Kosovo, progress in implementing government commitments on electoral reform in order to improve the conditions for the 2020 elections, and the enlargement perspective.

Ms Fajon underlined the urgency to implement the concrete proposals to improve conditions for holding parliamentary elections put forward by the Government and included in the conclusions of the first round of the Inter-Party Dialogue (IPD), launched and facilitated by the European Parliament in co-operation with the National Assembly of Serbia. The EP Co-Chair called on all parties to accept the invitation from the European Parliament and fully engage and constructively participate in the upcoming second round of the Inter-Party Dialogue. She underlined that the Conclusions of the first IPD clearly stated that further steps are necessary to improve the conditions for holding the 2020 elections, in particular creating a level playing field for all political parties participating in the elections, including having equal access to media and especially to the public broadcasters. She welcomed the scheduling of a hearing in the National Assembly on 12 November on the role and conduct of the Regulator of the Electronic Media (REM) and called for all parties and stakeholders to participate fully to ensure that clear and concrete proposals are put forward on improving the role and conduct of the REM and media environment. She went on to say that all proposals should be subject to full parliamentary scrutiny and in line with OSCE/ODHIR recommendations. She said she looked forward to taking part in the 2nd Inter-Party Dialogue. (...)

The full press statement in the below link.

Interparliamentary delegations start establishing their bureaus, 26 September 2019

Delegations are electing their bureaus, each of them consisting of a Chair and two Vice-Chairs.

At the constitutive meetings on Thursday, 26 September, most of 44 interparliamentary delegations of the European Parliament decided on their Chairs and Vice-Chairs. Once the elections have taken place, the names of the new Bureaus' members will be published on the Delegations' website. (Check the respective homepage of each delegation.)

Interparliamentary delegations maintain relations and conduct policy dialogues with parliamentarians in other countries, regions and organisations to promote the EU's core values: liberty, democracy, respect for human rights and fundamental freedoms, and the rule of law.

There are 44 standing interparliamentary delegations in this legislative period, the same number as in the last parliamentary term. Most of them have the same structure: they have a Chair and two Vice-Chairs, except for delegations to parliamentary assemblies (such as ACP, Eurolat, Euromed and Euronest), which are led by larger bureaus. Parliament's diversity in terms of geography and gender must be reflected in the composition of the bureau of each delegation; it shall not be permissible to have an all-male or all-female bureau or for both of the vice-chairs to come from the same member state (Rule 223 and Rule 213).