Veuillez remplir ce champ

A word from the chair

Welcome to the website of the European Parliament's Delegation to the ACP-EU Joint Parliamentary Assembly.

I am grateful for the trust that the members of the EU Delegation to the ACP-EU Joint Parliamentary Assembly have placed in me by electing me as their Chair. Succeeding personalities of great prestige and experience, who have left a legacy of great responsibility, I will be Chairman of this Delegation during a period of huge challenges.

I am committed to ensure that the EU Delegation to the ACP-EU Joint Parliamentary Assembly makes a strong contribution to strengthening a partnership between equals and promotes sustainable development in line with the goals of the 2030 Agenda, within a framework that advances and defends human rights, the rule of law and respect among peoples.

I count on all the elected members of this Joint Assembly and on the technical and political teams that support them, so that together we can transform a genuine desire of cooperation and development into tangible results in people's quality of life and the planet's sustainability.

Carlos Zorrinho

Declaration of the Co-Presidents on Post-Cotonou Negotiations during the 38th JPA

13-12-2019 12:25
The Co-Presidents of the ACP-EU Joint Parliamentary Assembly (JPA) welcome the progress made so far in the negotiations on the strategic priorities of the future agreement and on the regional protocols. They take note that more time is needed to negotiate the remaining parts of the agreement and that the negotiations could not be finalised as originally anticipated by the end of October 2019.

The Co-Presidents of the JPA express their serious concern, however, with part of the EU negotiating mandate that seems to put into question the continued existence of the JPA and thereby weakens the parliamentary dimension of the ACP-EU partnership.

On the contrary, the Co-Presidents wish to emphasize the importance of enhancing the parliamentary dimension of the future agreement in order to ensure democratic accountability at all levels and to promote the legitimacy and visibility of the partnership.

They recall that the ACP-EU Joint Parliamentary Assembly has a prominent role to play to ensure democratic oversight of the future agreement, provide for an open, frank and comprehensive parliamentary dialogue and to promote democracy and human rights.

The Co-Presidents therefore consider it fundamental for the new institutional framework to include a strengthened ACP-EU Joint Parliamentary Assembly. They welcome the position taken by the European Parliament Committee on Development that this is a non-negotiable condition for giving Parliament's consent to the future agreement.

The Co-Presidents consider that the Joint Parliamentary Assembly shall continue to be composed of an equal numbers of EU and ACP representatives and that it shall meet regularly in plenary session, alternately in the European Union and in an ACP State, and not dependent on the convening of Joint Council meetings. Regional Partnership Parliamentary Committees shall hold yearly meetings, and not be dependent on the meetings of the Regional Partnership Council of Ministers being convened.

In view of the expiry date of the Cotonou Agreement in February 2020, the Co-Presidents of the JPA welcome the decision made by the ACP-EU Council of Ministers to delegate to the ACP-EU Committee of Ambassadors the power to adopt transitional measures until the new ACP-EU partnership comes into force.

The Co-Presidents of the JPA reconfirm the positions expressed in its two resolutions on post Cotonou adopted respectively in October 2016 and June 2018 and believe that some of its essential elements need to be strongly reiterated so that they can be fully taken into account during the remaining time of the negotiations.

Declaration by the ACP-EU JPA Co-Presidents on Guinea Bissau

31-10-2019 12:30
The Co-Presidents of the ACP-EU Joint Parliamentary Assembly, Mr Carlos Zorrinho and Mr Joseph Owona Kono, express their deep concern with the current political developments in Guinea-Bissau and deem the Presidential decree aiming to dismiss Prime-Minister Gomes and his Government as unconstitutional and therefore illegal.

Such a move weakens the efforts put in place for elections and the programme that has been approved by the national Parliament with support from both regional and international partners, notably proven by the ECOWAS statement on the matter on 29 October 2019.

They call for the presidential elections foreseen on November 24th to be pursued and for all necessary measures to be taken to ensure stability and peace in the run-up to the elections and to allow for free, fair and transparent elections. They call on all actors to respect and promote the electoral process and not to take any actions that risk undermining it.

Brussels, 31 October 2019

Declaration of the Co-Presidents on the award of the Nobel Peace Prize 2019

31-10-2019 12:30

The Co presidents of the ACP-EU Joint parliamentary Assembly, Carlos Zorrinho and Joseph Kono, warmly congratulate the Prime Minister of the Federal Republic of Ethiopia Dr Abiy Ahmed, on being awarded the Nobel Prize for Peace 2019 by the Norwegian Nobel Committee.

They recall that only a few months after becoming Prime Minister, Dr. Abiy Ahmed managed to achieve a peace agreement with Eritrea, an extraordinary accomplishment after decades of conflict between the two countries and a major contribution to peace and stability in the Horn of Africa. He has also initiated important reforms favoring the freedom of expression and fighting corruption. It is our hope that the award of the Nobel Peace Prize will encourage the Prime Minister and his government to continue building on the reforms in order to promote human rights and rule of law, peace and stability in the country as well as in the region.

The Co-Presidents join in celebrating this achievement with the people of Ethiopia and urges them to extend the same spirit of reconciliation and brotherhood across the nations.

Brussels, 16 October 2019

Constitutive meeting 26.09.2019

01-10-2019 14:52

The constitutive meeting of the Delegation to the ACP-EU Joint Parliamentary Assembly (DACP) was be held on Thursday, 26 September 2019, from 09:00 to 09:45, in Brussels.
The following Members have been elected:

Chair: Mr Carlos ZORRINHO - (S&D), PT
1st Vice Chair: Ms Chrysoula ZACHAROPOULOU - (RE), FR
2nd Vice Chair: Ms Jadwiga WIŚNIEWSKA - (ECR), PL
3rd Vice Chair: Mr Dan NICA - (S&D), RO
4th Vice Chair: Ms Elżbieta Katarzyna ŁUKACIJEWSKA - (EPP), PL
5th Vice Chair: Ms Idoia VILLANUEVA RUIZ - (GUE/NGL), ES
6th Vice Chair: Mr Pietro BARTOLO - (S&D), IT
7th Vice Chair: Mr Tineke STRIK - (GREENS/EFA), NL
8th Vice Chair: Mr Karol KARSKI - (ECR), PL
9th Vice Chair: Mr Michael GAHLER - (EPP), DE
10th Vice Chair: Ms Marie Pierre VEDRENNE - (RE) FR
11th Vice Chair: Ms Inese VAIDERE - (EPP), LV
12th Vice Chair: Ms Neena GILL - (S&D), UK