Welcome from the Chair

As the elected Chair of the Delegation for relations with the countries of Central America, I preside over our regular meetings in Brussels and Strasbourg and set the agenda for our work with the nine countries this delegation follows: Belize, Costa Rica, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, and Panama. The Delegation follows a broad variety of issues in these countries, ranging from the economic and political situation to social, legal and human rights issues.

During this term of the European Parliament, the Delegation's work is focused on the EU-Central America Association Agreement, which was signed on 29 June 2012 in Tegucigalpa (Honduras). The trade pillar provisionally entered into force in 2013, but one EU member state (Belgium) has not yet ratified the Agreement, meaning that political cooperation and development are still under the provisions of the Political Dialogue and Cooperation Agreement signed in 2003. I hope that the Association Agreement can enter into force in the near future.

The Association Agreement provides for the establishment of an EU-Central America Joint Parliamentary Committee (JPC) with the six countries party to the Association Agreement (Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, and Panama). Currently, our Committee is working jointly with our partners, the Central American Parliament (Parlacen) and the Legislative Assembly of Costa Rica on the drafting of the rules of procedure for this interparliamentary body. Once set up, the JPC will greatly strengthen the inter-parliamentary cooperation between the two regions.

The Delegation travels once a year to Central America, normally visiting two countries. During its visit, DCAM typically meets representatives of the national parliaments, government, the private sector and civil society. DCAM visited El Salvador and Honduras from 23 to 28 February 2020, Honduras and Guatemala from 31 October to 4 November 2022 and the Dominican Republic and Costa Rica from 15-19 May 2023.

The outbreak of the COVID-19 pandemic certainly has changed the agenda of our Delegation, which I think will be busy for a long time looking at the consequences of the pandemic for Central America and the European Union.

I look forward to guiding our delegation through these challenging times in a rapidly changing world.

Tilly Metz


DCAM Meeting of 4 April 2024

04-04-2024 - 16:54
The meeting of the European Parliament Delegation for relations with the countries of Central America (DCAM) took place on Thursday 4 April 2024 and included the following items:
  • Presentation of the Detailed Conclusions of the Group of Human Rights Experts on Nicaragua from the United Nations;
  • Exchange of views on the presidential elections in El Salvador;
  • Status quo of the Association Agreement between the European Union and Central America;

DCAM item (in DROI) on 14 February 2024 on human rights defenders situation

20-02-2024 - 16:11
The Delegation for relations with the countries of Central America (DCAM) had been associated to an exchange of views which took place within the Subcommittee on Human Rights (DROI) on 14 February 2024:

  • Exchange of views on the deterioration of the situation of human rights defenders in Central America

Bureau of the DCAM delegation

11-08-2023 - 11:05
The Bureau of the Delegation for relations with the countries of Central America (DCAM) is currently constituted of the following members:

Chair: Tilly METZ (Greens/EFA, Luxembourg)

1st Vice-Chair: Javier NART (Renew Europe, Spain)

2nd Vice-Chair: Jens GIESEKE (EPP, Germany)