Members of the European Parliament

The European Parliament is made up of 720 Members elected in the 27 Member States of the enlarged European Union. Since 1979 MEPs have been elected by direct universal suffrage for a five-year period.

Find MEPs by Country

Spain (Canary Islands)
France (overseas departments and territories)
Portugal (Madeira, Azores)
image/svg+xml Ireland Malta Belgium Luxembourg Portugal Sweden Croatia Bulgaria Cyprus Austria Czechia Denmark Hungary Poland Slovakia Slovenia Germany Estonia Finland Latvia Lithuania Romania Netherlands Italy Greece France Spain

Search for your MEP

719 Members

Show list

About MEPs

Each country decides on the form its election will take, but must guarantee equality of the sexes and a secret ballot. EU elections are by proportional representation. Voting age is set at 16 in Austria, Belgium, Germany and Malta, 17 in Greece, and 18 in the remaining Member States. Seats are allocated on the basis of population of each Member State. More than a third of MEPs are women. MEPs are grouped by political affinity, not nationality. MEPs divide their time between their constituencies, Strasbourg - where 12 plenary sittings a year are held - and Brussels, where they attend additional plenary sittings, as well as committee and political group meetings. The terms and conditions for Members are laid out in the Statute of 2009.